It's really sad to see the update cadence of their new Service Desk (SWSD) product vs. Web Help Desk. There are MONTHLY updates to that product while WHD averages one update a YEAR! :(

documentation.solarwinds.com/.../swsd_june 2021_release_notes.htm

Too bad they can't seem to find the resources to put into WHD.

Parents
  • It shouldn't be that surprising, Samanage already had over $1.5 mil in monthly recurring revenue before SW bought them and I'd hope they've grown that number since they got it.  I'd be surprised if WHD brings in that much revenue in a whole year considering that I was a SW consultant for 5 years and can count the number of customers I ran into using WHD my fingers.  Likewise the SWSD license that would be the most direct equivalent of WHD costs about 30% more per technician and their enterprise license is nearly triple the cost.

If WHD fits your use case then its a cost effective solution for what it does.  For those who are hoping for something more then SWSD is probably the tool I would expect to get the lion's share of future development since it's a money maker.

• It shouldn't be that surprising, Samanage already had over $1.5 mil in monthly recurring revenue before SW bought them and I'd hope they've grown that number since they got it.  I'd be surprised if WHD brings in that much revenue in a whole year considering that I was a SW consultant for 5 years and can count the number of customers I ran into using WHD my fingers.  Likewise the SWSD license that would be the most direct equivalent of WHD costs about 30% more per technician and their enterprise license is nearly triple the cost.

If WHD fits your use case then its a cost effective solution for what it does.  For those who are hoping for something more then SWSD is probably the tool I would expect to get the lion's share of future development since it's a money maker.

Children