This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

IP Address Conflict Alert - How to configure

Hi - I'm new to IPAM Module, i have a requirement to configure IP Address Conflict Alert for our environment  I see Out of Box alert but that's shows all IP's which is not working.

Anyone can provide me updated custom properties alert?

• Copy the out of the box alert and modify the copied version.

• I disabled mine. It's always reporting conflicts on legit IPs, never understood why but it also seems to have issues identifying IPS using HSRP.

• I too got the same the result. I have raised a case with SW, SW asked to check whether the IP's are having conflicts.

Any other conditions do i need to add or just leave with the out of box alerts?

• How does IPAM detect conflicts?

IPAM primarily looks for differences in MAC addresses, from two distinct simultaneous scans for a single IP Address, within a subnet.

Conflict Scenarios:

SNMP versus SNMP Neighbor: This type of conflict will occur when there is a difference in MAC addresses retrieved from the ARP table of the configured device and SNMP OIDs during the subnet scan for a particular IP Address.

SNMP versus DHCP: This type of conflict will occur when there is a difference in MAC fetched from SNMP OID and DHCP leases from DHCP Server, for a particular IP Address during a subnet scan.

SNMP Neighbor versus DHCP: This type of conflict will occur when there is a difference in MAC addresses retrieved from ARP table of the configured device and DHCP leases from DHCP Server, for a particular IP Address during subnet scan.