4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 7, 2016 4:02 PM by magus

Can't group by "Level"?  Really?  Workaround, please!

magus

Hello:

We're a new company.  We've been using Web Help Desk for months but just opened our doors about a month ago.  The Help Desk, now that we're fully staffed, needs to be reconfigured.  We talked about how we wanted this to work and I set it up that way a few days ago, or so I thought.  Today, just by happenstance, I discovered on my own that the functionality wasn't working the way we wanted it to.  I studied my work and realized quite quickly what was going on but couldn't find a resolution so called support.  Support said, in short, "you can't do that."  Great; now what am I going to do?

I'm going to explain what I'm trying to do and then explain what is actually happening.  And finally, if you actually take the time to read all of that, hopefully one of you fine folk will have a workaround to this.

We have three tech groups - Access, General, and Admin.  In each group there were three levels configured by default - level 1, level 2, etc.  We have IT Help Desk Technicians, IT Technicians, and IT Business Analysts.  We wanted all of the tickets to come in to Level 1.  We have our IT Help Desk Technicians to Level 1 for each of these groups.  The tickets would come in to level 1 and not be automatically assigned to a tech, we just wanted them to sit there unassigned.  An IT Help Desk Technician, in his own time, would view the unassigned tickets and having opened one, either assign it to himself so he could do the work and close the ticket OR he could "Escalate" the ticket to Level 2 support.  The escalated ticket then, would go to Level 2 and again, not be assigned.  An IT Technician, in his free time then, in turn, would pick up the unassigned ticket and assign it t himself so he could do the work and close the ticket OR he could "Escalate" the ticket to Level 3 support where the whole process would repeat with the IT Business Analysts.