4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 24, 2015 11:04 AM by zackm

Microsoft SQL Help!!!

ben.schlick03

I started reading "teach yourself sequel in 10 minutes" yesterday and I am trying to write a query to pull all patch updates after 07/01/2015.(July, 01, 2015) I am having a difficult time trying to figure out if its a format issue in the database or the more probable reason is I am just a noob and I am doing it backwards... This is what I have so far.

select nodeid, name, installdate from [dbo].[assetinventory_osupdates] where datetime('mm-dd-yyyy' , installdate) >= 07-01-2015

I would greatly appreciate any advice and/help on the subject!!!

• Re: Microsoft SQL Help!!!
          gcp

Ok, assuming that installdate is defined as a date or datetime datatype,  then this should work (depending on your DATEFORMAT):

select nodeid, name, installdate from [dbo].[assetinventory_osupdates] where installdate >= '07-01-2015'

Note that when you specify a date string you must enclose it in quotes e.g. '07-01-2015'

In your select, you did not have it in quotes, so it would be treated as a mathematical expression 07-01-2015 which would equal -2009.

Check out the different date & time formats you can use - https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms180878(v=sql.105).aspx

Also the CONVERT function allows many date styles and may be useful for you in some queries.

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-AU/library/ms187928

1 of 1 people found this helpful
              ben.schlick03

Thanks!

That did the trick to get the overall report started in solarwinds but I know there is a way in the database to get the whole report needed. I know you are looking at this and thinking its hard to come to a conclusion without all of the facts and information in front of you but any help you can give would be much appreciated.