8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 6, 2015 6:56 AM by rharland2012

Branch VPN Monitoring

itmancal

Hi All,

Is there a way in NPM for me to be able to monitor if LAN-to-LAN VPN's are up between all my branch offices?

To explain more, I monitor all the VPN's from my branch office, where the SolarWinds server is, to our CoLo'd server and all the other four branch offices from here but what I also want to do is monitor the VPN connections from the CoLo to the other branch offices and the direct VPN's between the other branch offices themselves.

The CoLo and three main branch offices use Cisco Routers and the other two smaller offices are on DrayTek Routers.

I'd rather not pay for additional NPM servers at the other locations.

You'll probably come back mentioning MIB's and OIDs and such so please bear in mind I'm a total nooby at this, only managing to create a custom gauge showing how many GlobalActiveTunnels are on each Cisco router but this doesn't show me any difference as to whether these are LAN-to-LAN  or individual clients and whether it is a LAN-to-LAN dropping, which is what I'm trying to monitor.

• Re: Branch VPN Monitoring
          cjfranca

I do not quite understand what you want.
          But you will receive other devices to monitor and will not get an add poller.
          Checks what is more important to monitor the network and frees conditions to monitor other devices. Look if you can explain more accurate I can help you exactly what you

rharland2012

You are able to poll the Cisco and Draytek routers via SNMP, right?

Do you poll these devices via the VPN tunnels you reference?

If so - and say one of the VPNs from the colo Cisco and one of the Drayteks went down - wouldn't your polling to the Draytek fail?

I could be oversimplifying this, but that's a pretty fair measure of whether or not the VPN tunnel is up.

itmancal

Hope this makes it a little clearer.

Office 1 = CoLo