4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 20, 2015 12:45 AM by zheepern

Email notification group

zheepern

Hi All,

Please advise me on below quetion as i am very new to Solarwinds.

For every syslog alerts/traps trigger, I know it can be configure to send an email notification to specific people (as shown below).

Email Notification.JPG

Can we create a group in Solarwinds which contain multiple user instead of list down the users one by one in the alerts ?

I am trying to check this because there are too many process to go through if we are creating new company group email.

Thank you very much in advance.

Eric

• Re: Email notification group
          rschroeder

I had the same need, and simple asked my E-mail (Exchange/Outlook) administrator to create a group e-mail address for my team, then put all of our accounts into it.

Then I reference that group e-mail address within Orion.

Before this I simply had my e-mail address on the To: line, and my coworkers' addresses on the CC: line.  That worked, although it's not as elegant as having a group e-mail address that includes everyone's e-mail addresses.

zheepern

Hi rschroeder,

Thank for your reply. Currently we are manually include the email address in each alerts and it takes time to remove or add new email.

I would like to check any possibility to create a group in solarwinds instead of asking my company email administrator to create a new group email. (Boss requirement )

Thank in advance for the reply.

Eric

rschroeder

Do you have outside vendors who support your WAN or Internet?  If so, has your organization created a single e-mail address group for them to send maintenance notifications to? 

If so, there's your group e-mail address.  If not, I strongly recommend it.  Your Active Directory security administrators and e-mail administrators can do it quickly and easily.