This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Orion NPM Distributed Setup

I've recently become the admin for the Orion NPM system at the organization I work for and I am still learning the system. We have a pretty large Orion setup with approximately 13,000 elements. Our current setup is such:

Server 1:

Orion Platform 2015.1.0, SAM 6.2.0, QoE 2.0, NCM 7.3.2, NPM 11.5, NTA 3.11.0, IVIM 2.0.0

Runs web, alerting, and the primary poller (~9,700 elements)

Server 2:

Secondary poller (~3,300 elements)

Server 3:

SQL Cluster node (Windows Failover)

Server 4:

SQL Cluster node (Windows Failover)

Our first poller is getting quite bogged down and Orion is becoming very slow to launch the web front end. I am looking to separate these polling functions from the front end. More specifically, I'd like to build a new server for the front end, and possibly a new one for the alerting. Is there a recommended setup for distributing these services, and if so, can someone point me in the right direction? If not, does anyone have any tips on how it would be best to separate these services?

• Without knowing the power of the systems, I'd move as much polling as I could to server 2

Then I'd look at the database performance: make sure you're running raind 10 with separate arrays for Data, Log (and System/Temp)

make sure the database servers are not synchronous (requiring every commit to work on both systems.

(honestly, alerting is not that high a load on the servers)

If you want to add an additional webserver then that might help, but only if your current one truly is bogged down by CPU, and not stuck in the database...