This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

How does the Block IP active response work for multiple connected firewalls?

I'm somewhat new to LEM and was looking at using the Block IP active response in a rule. I don't see any option in the rule builder to select which of the LEM connected firewalls I want to block the IP on. If I start this rule will it attempt to block the specified IP on all of my firewalls or just the one the log came from? I'd really like to block the IP logged from the external firewall on the internal one but I'm not sure this is possible.

Thank you,

Shane Isbister

• When a LEM rule hits the "Block IP" action, it sends a block IP command to every firewall device for which an "Active Response" has been configured under Manage --> Appliances --> Connectors.

• curtisi,

Have you tested this in an environment with multiple firewalls? When the support tech was configuring LEM with us he told my colleague that active response actions could only be taken on the firewall that generated the log. It seems silly to me that LEM would not allow you to select multiple firewalls/devices to take action on based on rule criteria. The action listed is just Block IP and there is no documentation that I have been able to find that explains how the active responses work in rules for multiple devices.

• FormerMember
    0 FormerMember in reply to sisbister

That's not true - it's a broadcast to all firewalls with a block IP active response connector enabled/configured.

You could in fact correlate events from a workstation/server and block them on a firewall/router, too.

PS: If you have a case #, we can make sure this makes it back to the support team. emoticons_happy.png