This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Filtering NCM reports for specific nodes

I am new to NCM and am already a bit confused about its reporting capabilities. For example, I tried to get a report about Policy Violations, but wanted to limit the report to only specific nodes, I noticed that I am not able to setup filters for the nodes (or groups of nodes) to be included in the NCM reports.  We have over 3,000 nodes, so getting reports for all our nodes is very impractical.  Am I missing something here concerning node (or group) filtering in NCM?  If so, I would very much appreciate some guidance.  Thanks! emoticons_cool.png

• First off, the policy violations section is quite different than the report writer.  Not going to get into specifics here, but it might be something you want to look into closer.

Compliance reports are comprised of three things.  At the bottom level you have a series of rules, which are the individual components in a report.    These are the building blocks upon which you build the entire report, usually best to keep them to checking a single component.   

Above that you have "Policies", and this is the important part for you.  Policies are comprised of any number of rules.   You can re-use the same rule in multiple policies.   If you edit a policy you will notice that it allows you to select nodes in the report.  You have an "all nodes" selection which includes every node you have.  There is also a "Select nodes" where you can select individual nodes to use.  The one you will probably use the most though is the "Dynamic Selection".  Here you can choose nodes by whatever criteria is best for you.