3 Replies Latest reply on May 18, 2015 8:12 AM by sathya4046

MAC address history

thatguy

Newbie here, new to IPAM.  We are a medium sized organization looking into something more than a spreadsheet as a IPAM solution.

Is it possible to search on a MAC address to display a chronological log of all ip addresses that were leased, expired, etc by this particular MAC address?  This is useful for troubleshooting should a device be moved or the port be reconfigured, and this allows tracking the lifecycle of a device (rather than an ip address).

Thanks

• Re: MAC address history
          Craig Norborg

Ok, I thought it could, but I just definitely confirmed it for you.

By default it doesn't search on MAC addresses, but there is a down arrow in the search box that if you click on it gives you the option of what fields to search on. 

I was able to confirm that it does this by going into the database and looking up where it stores the historical IP info and doing a count on the EndpointID to find multiple occurrences of the same MAC Address, picked one that had a lot, figured out what MAC it was and do a search on that.   Have a few months history on it over different IP's and such.  One note, in the DB the MAC address is stored as just letters/numbers, no dashes or anything.  When searching I had to do it in 58-94-6B-32-66-F0, so it is a bit picky on search format.

That being said, don't be surprised if you get duplicate MAC addresses in your organization.  It's not common, but it is definitely possible.