6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 1, 2015 3:08 PM by prawij

Dependencies not active

lowcloud32

Hi solarwinds community,

I'm new to the network monitor and I need some help with alerts and dependencies. I have the following dependencies set up:

The Network Monitor is installed on a server connected to 10.0.0.199

10.0.0.199 is the parent to 10.0.1.51

10.0.1.51 is the parent to 10.0.1.52 and 10.0.1.30

10.0.1.30 is the parent to 10.0.1.31 and 10.0.1.32 which are in a group

10.0.0.121 and 10.0.0.124 are not monitored.

As I understand it, when node 10.0.1.51 goes down, I should get an alert telling me that it is down and 10.0.1.30, 10.0.1.52, and the group with 10.0.1.31 and 10.0.1.32 should be marked as unreachable and I should not get an alert for them, but I do. The only alert trigger in my Node is down alert is node status is = down. In the event log I will see 10.0.1.52, 10.0.1.30, 10.0.1.31, and 10.0.1.32 all go down and alert as down.

• Re: Dependencies not active
          mharvey

There are different types of events generated by SolarWinds.  It may still show the device is down, if it is detected prior to the dependancy check and prior to the parent device if the child device so happens to poll sooner.  One practice I have used is having the parents set to a faster poll time than the child objects.  As well, SolarWinds will write an event for any changes to polled devices which are different than events/notifications generated by alerts.  Within your node down alert, what actions to you have configured?  Are you getting notifications with that text in it, or a system event stating a device has stopped responding.

lowcloud32

I only have the default node is down alert that with be action being to write to the event log.

Trigger Action: NetPerfMon Event Log : Node ${NodeName} is ${Status}.

I'll change all the polling times on my nodes to see if that helps.

Thanks

prawij