This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Can NCM do bare metal restorations?

I'm rather new to the Network Configuration Manager piece, but have it installed on my Orion server and it has backed up the configuration of the network gear we have. Though, we had a incident to where we had to replace one of our cisco switches and the engineer used a old copy of a config he had stored on his system as apposed to using NCM. I wanted to find out if NCM has a process to do complete restores to a new switches or how others are using NCM to configure new/replacement network gear. Do others just do a cut and paste from NCM to the console of the device? Are there scripts for this type of restoration?

• I'm no NCM expert, but I believe you'll have to do a few things manually on the replacement switch to 1) get it on the network and 2) setup credentials for NCM.  After NCM access is restored, you should be able to go to the switch node details page, configs tab, and find the Upload Config widget.  I'd upload the last config backup and check the boxes to write to NVRAM and reboot.

Haven't had to restore a switch yet, personally, but that's how I'd try it.