This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Can I install NTA Flow Storage on the Orion SQL database server?

Hi,

I'm new to the Solarwinds product and just finished installing NPM on one server, and SQL portion on a dedicated Orion SQL database server. I'm now installing NTA and since I have only these two servers (and it appears that best recommended practice is not to have NTA Flow Storage Database on the same server with NPM, nor on the Orion SQL server), which of the two should I go fwd with the installation? And is there anything I can do to mitigate performance issues that may occur?

I also will be installing NCM after I'm done NTA so if there are recs for this as well, please let me know.

Thanks,

Morgan

• I'll hit the good part of the question first - NCM installs right onto your existing poller, and uses the same database as NPM.

Now for the less-good part: NTA was split out the way it was specifically because of the performance hits users saw when it was part of the Orion database. So putting the flow storage db onto either of those boxes really defeats the purpose of that enhancement. The good news (if you can call it that) is that you only need one more box, and the requirements are fairly low - it's not really a "database" server in the same way your SQL database for Orion is. It can be a VM, it doesn't need the same amount of memory, and disk space is determined by how many flows you want to store.

Of course, ALL of this advice comes with the usual "caveate implement-or" - if you have thousands of devices, millions of interfaces, or hundreds of flows, all bets are off. On other hand, if you are monitoring 150 devices, you MIGHT be able to get away with putting everything together.