This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

VPN monitoring

vpn with none contains wo ip.pngvpn alert settings not working without ip.pngTotal noob here. I want to create an alert for when a specific L2L tunnel goes down. I can pull the peer ip's with cikeTunRemoteValue and I can verify tunnels are going down with crasL2LNumSessions, but I am not getting alerts when I try to setup for the tunnel going down. I don't control either end of the VPN but I have setup SNMP to me through one side. When I test the trigger I am receiving an email, so that part is good.

I have tried the following:

• So what is the identifying metric for when a tunnel goes down?

Alert me when   A  is   B 

What is the A and B here?

Once we have that it will be easier to assist you.

Couple of questions/assumptions -

djb232 wrote:

I can pull the peer ip's with cikeTunRemoteValue and I can verify tunnels are going down with crasL2LNumSessions

Based on your explanation, I would assume:

A = crasL2LNumSessions

B = 0 (zero)

However, looking at your examples in the pictures, I might assume:

Alert me when (cikeTunRemoteValue is empty) AND (crasL2LNumSessions = 0)

Is the cikeTunStatus poller needed here? What is the significance of that in this situation?

-ZackM

Loop1 Systems: SolarWinds Training and Professional Services

• vpn with none contains wo ip.png

Above the blacked out node name is the node I have setup to an ASA whose tunnels I am trying to monitor. Below that the blacked out Value I specified is the IP of the remote peer whose status I am trying to track. So I was trying to say: On this node, with these remote VPN tunnel IP's (cikeTunRemoteValue), alert me when the does not contain the peer IP I am interested in.