4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 29, 2015 1:50 PM by vrfa_it

Computers getting reassigned to the Unassigned Computer Group

asanti@sciquest.com

Hi,

I am new to Patch Manager and have a question.

After assigning computers to groups I come back the next day and find that the computers previously assigned to computer groups have been reassigned back the unassigned computers group. How can I stop this from happening? Is there something I am doing wrong?

Thanks,

• Re: Computers getting reassigned to the Unassigned Computer Group
          Lawrence Garvin

This is caused by inconsistencies in the settings for group membership management.

There are two methodologies for assigning group memberships.

The default is "Server-Side Targeting". In this methodology the Options->Computers setting is set to "Use the Update Services console", and NEW computers are automatically placed in the "Unassigned Computers" group until they are assigned to a different group.

The option is "Client-Side Targeting" In this methodology the Options->Computers setting is set to "Use Group Policy...", and Target Group membership is declared in Group Policy. If the declared Target Group exists, the client is placed in that group; if the declared Target Group does not exist, the client is placed in "Unassigned Computers".

One of the complicating factors in this process is that the Patch Manager console does not block the use of "Change Group Membership" when Client-Side Targeting is being used, but the results of that action will be ultimately ignored.

Additional complications arise when the Options->Computers setting is inconsistent with the configuration of the GPO "Enable client-side targeting".