4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 28, 2019 6:22 AM by fluffy midnight

    Consequences of deleting Tech or Tech Group

    postwick

      Is past data (or anything else) affected if unused Tech accounts or Tech Groups are deleted?

        • Re: Consequences of deleting Tech or Tech Group
          patricks

          From what I understand, the tech just is greyed out on all tickets and has an 'i' next to the name, just like a deleted client.

          2 of 2 people found this helpful
          • Re: Consequences of deleting Tech or Tech Group
            kenk55

            i would like to see some kind of documentation on this. I need to make sure that after deleting old tech accounts I can still search old tickets that the deleted tech worked on.

            1 of 1 people found this helpful
            • Re: Consequences of deleting Tech or Tech Group
              zactar

              I will second kenk55 here: this needs documentation.

              • Re: Consequences of deleting Tech or Tech Group
                fluffy midnight

                Hi postwick, kenk55, zactar,

                 

                It is not recommended to delete old tech accounts, it's best practice to set them to inactive as the technician may be required again if that user comes back for whatever reason.

                 

                Deleting an old tech won't remove the history or information of that technician on old tickets, however it will make it difficult to search for the technician.

                 

                 

                Once again, it is not recommended to delete old tech groups, however if you do plan on removing them then you'll want to remove any configuration links to them.

                This consists of;

                • Techs (can remove the technician from the group afterwards by manually going through each individual's technician account configuration)
                • Action Rules
                • Request Types
                • Incoming Mail Accounts

                 

                Overall, it's not recommended, but shouldn't usually cause issues as it's a soft delete.

                 

                -Midnight

                 

                PS; Tip: Indicators next to the technician name stands for;

                [C] = Concurrent license *old licensing style*

                [D] = Deleted account *THIS EXISTS FOR DELETED LEGACY USERS*

                [I] = Inactive account

                [S] = work Schedule is different than the default business zone

                [V] = on Vacation

                2 of 2 people found this helpful