I couldn't agree more.
I have tried disabling this behaviour, but can't find a way to achieve this!
If you do find a way, please do share
But maybe just re-post as a feature request for AC.
There is no way to achieve this. Currently the workflow ends with acknowledge or close the alert.
There is already a feature request for this: https://thwack.solarwinds.com/ideas/2023 - Automatic alert status changes: automatically acknowledging (request + bug) & no longer active