1 Reply Latest reply on May 29, 2014 2:45 AM by shuth

Need help in alert timing

mahdi87_gh

Hi everyone, I'm new to Alerting engine. I configured an alert to send a post url to my web server. the alert is configured to check every 15 secs. if i shut an interface on the router it should send an alert. the problem is solarwinds sends alert after around 100 secs not 15 secs. and if the interface changes state to up before 100 secs, i don't get any alert at all. what is the problem?

• Re: Need help in alert timing
          shuth

Assuming you have set the "Alert Evaluation Frequency" to 15 seconds in the alert configuration, this will query the database to look for the alert conditions every 15 seconds.  This is different to the SolarWinds server polling your devices/interfaces for their status/statistics.

You will need to configure your nodes and interfaces to have a quicker polling interval (and possible reduce the warning period) if you want to be notified sooner. If the router is still reachable with the interface down, the interface should go straight to a down status on poll (no warning period)

I've included some info below from a post I wrote the other week about how the node status polling works.

Difference Between Statistics Collection Interval and Rediscovery Interval

Short version: At system defaults, a device can be down for 2-4 minutes before being detected

Long version: See wall of text below.

As Rob above mentioned, there are separate polling intervals for status, statistics and rediscovery.

The status polling interval is how often the server will check the status, availability, response time and packet loss of your monitored elements (default 2 minutes).

The statistics polling interval is how often the server will collect statistics from your devices using SNMP/WMI - information such as CPU/Memory utilisation, volume statistics, interfaces statistics, etc.