This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Assistance req: NOC view for SAM & NPM

Good afternoon,

I'll preface this with the fact that I'm pretty new to SolarWinds as a whole. So far, I've been able to manage alerts (make new ones, update old ones etc.) and work with custom properties pretty alright.

Here's the version banner from the bottom of the page:

Orion Platform 2015.1.2, SAM 6.2.1, DPA 9.2.0, QoE 2.0, NPM 11.5.2, IVIM 2.1.0

This week, I've been struggling with setting up a decent NOC view. As we have NPM and SAM, I was hoping to get one view setup to monitor some top metrics from both systems. Our NPM lives on one server (call it server A) and SAM on another (call it server B).

Working within SAM, I've setup a NOC View. On there, adding the columns from the available SAM selections is a piece of cake. I feel that I have a good grasp on getting SAM information presented.

The difficulty I am having is getting information from NPM now. The only way I've have limited success is by taking the page source from the Top 10 view in NPM, and pasting that into a "Custom HTML" resource on the NOC View. This kind of works - the page does load, but then the entire NOC view is filled with "There was an error while rendering resource with id <id>", where <id> is variable.

Poking around at it, I got the page basically back to where the SAM information is not throwing that rendering error. The NPM "Custom HTML" resource still is.