3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 10, 2014 11:34 AM by Lawrence Garvin

Patch Managment Newbie questions on WUA error handling

bkao

As a developer interested in getting the most out of Windows Update Agent API to install MS updates, I am encountering the following questions whenever I cannot use WUAApiLib.dll to install certain "stupborn" updates. Bear with me as I am new to Thwack and patch management. If this type of questions are already covered in other threads/FAQ within Thwack/PM or at Microsoft please kindly post the pointers. Thanks in advance.

Q1. Is there a list of all the possible format/fileext of MS updates/install tools and  that I can get directly from Microsoft?

if exe        then c:\>file.exe  /quiet /norestart

else if cab   then c:\>pkgmgr /w /ip /quiet /noreboot /m: ( or dism)

else if msi   then c:\>msiexec /q /i

else if msu   then c:\>wusa /quiet /norestart

Q2. If WUA API fails to install, is there a universal way to re-try pro grammatically, that is suitable all OS (from XP to windows 8.1)?

Q3.  Out of all the ~1000 wua error codes, which ones worth retrying installation by means of IUpdateInstaller2.CreateUpdateInstaller.Install()?

http://inetexplorer.mvps.org/archive/windows_update_codes.htm

Q4. Other than windowsupdate.log and cbs.logs, is there other logs that cannot be missed?

The above questions assume relatively modern WUA versioning, no virus, already restarted all relative services (Windows Installer, Windows Update, TrustedInstaller, no reboot pending due to already installed updates etc. )

Thanks in advance.

Ben

• Re: Patch Managment Newbie questions on WUA error handling
          Lawrence Garvin

The best resource to use for programming against the Windows Update Agent API is the MSDN Library:

Windows Update Agent API (Windows)

Q1. Is there a list of all the possible format/fileext of MS updates/install tools and  that I can get directly from Microsoft?