7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 11, 2013 6:47 AM by Jan Pelousek

Extracting Data from Orion database

giteepag1987

Hello Experts,

I am new to solarwinds. I am in a situation where I need to extract data from Orion database. Basically I have been provided with orion SDK Software to access Orion database.

I can login to the database and it has tables inside.

Does anyone know how to extract data from them? Do we have any document which explains it?

Thanks,

-Prashant Girennavar.

• Re: Extracting Data from Orion database
          Jan Pelousek

Hello,

It very depends on what you need to do. If you need to use database operations like "DELETE", "UPDATE", etc. in SQL syntax, then you should use rather DB manager shipped with Orion or SQL management studio. If you need to work with Orion objects as they are designed, you can use SWQL studio (part of Orion SDK) or if you need it for some kind of automation, you can use e.g. PowerShell cmdlets such as Get-SwisData. (Get-SwisData $swisConnection $query). Please specify your needs. However the OrionSDK docummentation (included in SDK installer) should give you sufficient information, incl. how to use CRUD operations, etc.

giteepag1987

Hello Jan,

Thanks for the reply. I just want to extract information which is stored in the table. I will be not updating or creating or deleting any data inside the database.

Talking about powershell , from where I can download the module for this? Can you please let me know.

Currently I am using Invoke-SQLCmd for SQL Database , same way I can extract the data if I have module for this

Thanks,

-Prashant Girennavar.

Jan Pelousek

The module is the part of Orion SDK and related assemblies should be installed while installing the package. Then is enough to add the snapin to powershell by "Add-PSSnapin SwisSnapin" command.

Then you can start your scripts e.g. like this: