3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 26, 2013 10:00 AM by garrethcoleman

Monitoring Web Traffic with LEM

wiki.fido

Hello Thwack Community,

This is my first post/ question though I have been lurking on the board to get my questions answered for about 60 days since getting my new position. I am new to Solarwinds and LEM as most of my experience in the past has been with Arcsight, which is a very different product.

So my question is, I am attempting to create a rule or filter that will allow me to watch for Google calendar activity (basically people syncing their Outlook calenders inside the organization to their Google calenders)

I looked into this and I found the official Microsoft document on how to go about doing this located here at this link

http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/outlook-help/transfer-calendars-between-outlook-and-google-calendar-HA010167495.aspx

I followed the instructions using my own Google calendar, to determine how it worked

Through my reading I believe what occurs is a cross download and referencing of that .ics file you see at the end of the URL, which updates the calendar with each other’s info.

- Is there a way to set an alert for this .ics file getting traded over the network?

- Alternatively the URL contains /ical/ is there a way to write an alert for this?

I understand how it works I just don't know how to properly write a rule/filter for the traffic to alert me if the action is occurring. Any input or assistance would be great

• Re: Monitoring Web Traffic with LEM
          garrethcoleman

Hi,

There is two possible scenarios where you could potentially track this information.

1) monitor web traffic through proxy / firewall - If you are routing your web traffic from users through a proxy or firewall which logs traffic, get the syslog events to send to LEM and identify the interesting events. You can choose to filter these in the monitor, or apply a rule to take action when this event triggers the rule.