26 Replies Latest reply on Jul 18, 2014 1:01 PM by Patrick Hubbard

SCP taken and passed

bluefunelemental

The exam guide along with real-world experience was good prep for the SCP exam. All questions well written and a good balance of npm vs basic network troubleshooting.

Good times.

• Re: SCP taken and passed
          brianwhelton

Well done!

reklov77

Congratulations!

omermushtaq

Can you tell me how you prepare for the exam. I downloaded the SCP exam guide from SolarWind website. And I have basic knowledge of networking. Can you help in passing this exam??

dblavos

I just took it a week ago, and it was a different kind of test.  I'm used to Cisco tests which are very dry and direct.  I felt the SCP made me think a little bit on each question.  If you have a good knowledge of troubleshooting networks, as well as some project management skills it will all come into play on the test.  I prepared by going through all the videos available, as well as this overview helped prep me up a lot:  SCP exam overview - my perspective | thwack

Study up, take the practice test on here:  SCP_Exam_Prep_Guide.pdf | thwack and see how you do.   If you're in the 85%+ I'd say go ahead and go for it.

Good luck!

omermushtaq

I have passed the SOLAR WINDS CERTIFIED PROFESSIONAL EXAM

Patrick Hubbard

Welcome new SCP holders!  Congratulations on passing your exam- it's quite a challenge and marks your expertise with not just SolarWinds NPM, but network performance monitoring in general.  We're amazed by the continued outpouring of excitement.  Many of you have sent me photos of you and your welcome kit and they're always a pleasure to receive.

For those who are new to the program, here are a couple of general tips:

1. Your certificate is valid for 5 years.  You may renew it and even keep the same SCP number (although the validation number will change).