This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

On Call Techs and WHD

FormerMember
FormerMember

Hey,

I am relatively new to WHD and I manage a small IT team that works M-F, 9-5 as biz hours; but is on a rotating 'on call' schedule on the weekends. We are working on our ticket routing and escalation processes, and I was wondering if anyone out there had any best practices for alerts and action rules and the like? Beyond basic set up of WHD I am still quite unfamiliar with the software- so any tips are appreciated. Thanks!

• I would check out Alert Central - our free product that I think will fill your gap. Alert Central - Free Alert Management Software by SolarWinds

• We are attempting to do this - we have various rotating on-call schedules for ticket assignment. Unfortunately, this creates as much chaos as it attempts to resolve since the two products are not closely integrated, leading to managing tickets in multiple locations.

• Couldn't agree more - the integration is piecemeal at best.

• We also do not use Alert Central... for now. That will come later once we have more in place.

We setup a work around by setting a rule for each tech that is scheduled to be on-call so when it comes time for their shift we activate their rule and deactivate the one coming off the on-call shift.

On-Call rule.PNG

Just an idea.

~Q