6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 10, 2013 6:49 AM by njoylif

IPAM NOT REFLECTING IP ADDRESSES ACCURATELY

jambo1967

looking for a bit of help here fellow solarwinds bods

im a contractor onsite at a site and iv came in to do odd jobs a lot round solarwinds so ive learned a lot about ipam/ncm/nta etc

however one issue to clear up was why IPAM sometimes reflects an ip incorreclty i.e its reporting it as being free when its not an vice versa.

now on network there is a mixed bag unix/linus boxes that have AIX firewalls  so solarwinds scan doesnt pick it up, but there is ips i believe are been used and IPAM is reportign as available and they are not linux or unix boxes.

is there any quick fixes to tidy this up?is there anything around transient ips i can do(current settign is the default of 7 )...what exactly is transient ip also?

any help would be greatly apprieciated

• Re: IPAM NOT REFLECTING IP ADDRESSES ACCURATELY
          deverts

jambo,

First, you need to understand the polling process of IPAM.  By default, IPAM scans the configured networks every 4 hours for active IPs (ICMP/Ping).  Any IP that responds, gets polled a second time for SNMP info.  And then finally, IPAM will perform a DNS lookup for the IP.  I think in your particular situation, the device is not responding to ICMP requests, therefore, IPAM doesn't know the IP is in use.  If its a firewall, you will probably see failed ICMP requests in the logs; and you probably need to add a simple "allow ICMP" statement for your IPAM server.

As for transient, this is typically for DHCP devices on the network.  It simply means that during the scan process above, it found an active IP on the network.  Then during the another scan, the IP was no longer responding.

D

jambo1967

HI deverts