54 Replies Latest reply on Jul 6, 2015 2:35 PM by aselitto

Do you have a trouble ticketing system ? Should you?

recklessop

This week my question isn't direct tied to Remote access, however I think it plays a big part when companies decide to implement a remote access solution, especially for troubleshooting and ease of administration purposes.

I work as a principal architect for DPSciences, which is just a fancy way of saying that I figure out how to make things work so that customer problems get solved. Occasionally I have to help an IT manager figure out ways to justify the price tag on those solutions too, and more often than not when I ask if they have a trouble ticketing system to track the time the spend on support of end user workstations or remote sites the answer is "No". If however the customer does have a ticketing system it is really easy to determine the number of hours that they spend troubleshooting problems, or driving to remote sites... and that time converts nicely into dollars that can be spent in the future to fix those problems.

So my question is: Does your IT department have a trouble ticketing system, and do you use it ?

Also, have you done a project where time logs would (or did) help to sell that project?

• Re: Do you have a trouble ticketing system ? Should you?
          mdriskell

I have never worked for an IT organization that didn't have some sort of a ticketing system.  These systems if designed and configured properly can invaluable in looking at hours spent on an issue and can also be a source of information for problem mitigation.  Looking for historical trends in tickets for a system/service/site can help with problem solving and find key areas to allocate resources.

chipsch