3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 27, 2013 12:32 PM by Lawrence Garvin

Default Credential Rings always used

lshunnarah

I'm new to PM and I have read through the documentation.  We are currently in the process of setting up PM for ourselves and our customers.  In our environment we have many different domains to manage WSUS servers for.  With this said I am trying to utilize credential rings to manage credentials for each domain we manage.  I'm running accross a problem that appears that no matter what I do to assign a credential ring to a management group, when accessing resources in that management group, PM always wants to use the default credential ring to access those resources.  If I add all the credential of the many domains we manage in the default credential ring and assign the resources appropriately inside that credential ring, I'm able to access the resources succesfully.  However once I create a new credential ring, and configure appropriately for the domain that I want to use that ring on, it seems to never use it when accessing those resources in that management group.  In the Scope Management section I'm able to select various resources from different domains and clearly see that they are assigned the credential ring that I created for that management group.  Is there something else I'm missing?  I feel like I've missed something in the documentation and/or have completely mis-understood the purpose of credential rings.  I'd prefer to keep them more seperate that throwing all my credentials into one default ring.

Any suggestions on resolving my problem would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Louis

• Re: Default Credential Rings always used
          Lawrence Garvin