44 Replies Latest reply on Jan 27, 2014 10:45 AM by scottfraley

How to create array of arguments for Unmanage/Remanage? (C#)

fourmica

I am trying to write a method for Unmanaging and Remanaging nodes in Orion, in C#. Using the CSClient example, I've been able to write a query Orion for a NodeID based on sysname. However, when I want to Invoke("Orion.Nodes", "Unmanage", args) I don't know how to correctly create the ArrayOfXMLElement that the method seems to want. I tried modifying the code used for the alert example, but it gives me "FaultException`1" when I try it. I created the data object to store the arguments based on the column names in the Nodes table. I am using VS2010, .net 4.0, Orion 2012.2.0, and SDK 1.6. I am very new at this so please be gentle :-) The portion of the code that gets the NodeID based on sysname works fine.

This is what my code looks like:

using System;

using System.Net;

using System.Runtime.Serialization;

using System.Xml;

using System.Linq;

using System.Xml.Linq;

using System.Xml.XPath;

using CSClient.SWIS;

namespace CSClient

{

class Program

{

static void Main()

{

const string hostname = "myorionserver";

const string username = @"myuser";

const string password = "mypassword";

ServicePointManager.ServerCertificateValidationCallback = (sender, certificate, chain, errors) => true;

var client = new InformationServiceClient("BasicHttpBinding_InformationService", string.Format("https://{0}:17778/SolarWinds/InformationService/v3/OrionBasic", hostname));

client.ClientCredentials.UserName.UserName = username;

client.ClientCredentials.UserName.Password = password;

client.Open();

var nodeIDInfo = client.QueryXml("SELECT TOP 1 NodeID from Orion.Nodes WHERE sysname like 'targetserver' RETURN XML AUTO", null);

nodeIDInfo.Save(@"c:\temp\orionoutput.xml");

var nodeID = nodeIDInfo.XPathSelectElement("//*[local-name()='NodeID']").Value;

Console.WriteLine("Node ID is " + nodeID.ToString());