5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 16, 2013 3:45 PM by tmiranda

Tracking AD changes in LEM

zmilbach

I'm fairly new to LEM. I"m trying to create a filter that will show me when someone makes a change to an AD group. Whether it be removing a user from this group or adding a new group altogether. Anyone have a suggestions. I've been looking in the Change Management section but not seeing anything jumping out at me.

The Person that set this up before me has the filter just looking at Auditable Group Events but when ever I add a group or make changes to a group I don't see it come across LEM at all.

Thanks for any insight.

• Re: Tracking AD changes in LEM
          katebrew

Hi, I am a new product marketing person at SolarWinds and I'm sorry I don't know this answer.  I've reached out to some technical folks, though, and pointed them at your post, so hopefully we can help you out.

tmiller_hockey

In your LEM console, click build then rules.

Look in the left column under folders and find "Rule Library"  open this up and underneath you will see a "Windows/Active Directory" category.  All rules you need for monitoring any group changes/deletions will be located here.

Click the gear wheel on the rule you want to use, select "Clone". This will place the rule in the "Custom Rules" folder.  Go there and edit the rule making changes you want such as who gets notified, etc.  Click apply, then save and don't forget to activate the rule.

nicole pauls

Those templates for rules will also be useful when trying to create filters - it will be the same logic that you can use there.

The Auditable Group Events group SHOULD be catching when a user is added/removed from a group, a property change (like the name) is made to that group, that sort of thing. If you're not seeing those events, you might also want to check your domain/local audit policy and make sure those changes are being audited, and then your event log rotation to make sure it's not full or dropping events.