30 Replies Latest reply on Oct 3, 2013 2:51 PM by scott.williams

Patch Management? I don't care for it but YOU should!

Carlo Costanzo

Patch Management!  How exciting?  Eagerly waiting up till the wee hours of the night on Patch Tuesdays, waiting for Microsoft to release the latest round of security patches and application fixes.  I’m sure it’s like Christmas Eve EVERY SINGLE MONTH for Systems Administrators!

As a consultant though, who coincidentally doesn’t really care much for the holidays either (all the hustle and bustle of people shopping and deadlines for purchasing things – Bah, Humbug!), Patch Tuesdays don’t even raise an eyebrow for me.  You see, I’m a project based consultant.  I normally enter environments with a specific purpose and specific deliverable.  Set up a solution, configure it, test it, document it, train the staff on it’s operations and then move on to the next project.  When I implement a system, it is normally completely patched up with the latest build numbers, versions and security fixes. Honestly, patch management is not even on my radar (or in my scope).  Sure, I know it will need to be done eventually, but it most likely will not be done by me…  Yeah, maybe I’m a rotten consultant but I think I am much more like a typical consultant on a typical project at a typical client in a typical environment.