27 Replies Latest reply on Mar 28, 2013 3:01 PM by tdanner

Queries regarding Orion SDK

mohit goel

Hi,

I am a newbie to Orion SDK . we actually want to implement/deploy SDK in our production environment. I had some queries..maybe some one can help me out..:

- we are running NPM v10.3 and soon gonna be using Orion FoE(Failover engine),I hope SDK's latest version is compatible with it.

- we have a inhouse developed CMDB, can SDK connect to that ?

- also can you please redirect me to some release note or installation guide, to better understand Orion SDK

Many thanks in advance.

Regards,

mohit

• Re: Queries regarding Orion SDK
          tdanner

1. The current version of the SDK works with NPM 10.3 and the failover engine.

2. The tools and samples in the SDK connect to the Orion platform using a SolarWinds-proprietary protocol. They won't connect to your in-house CMDB. However, depending on what API your CMDB supports, it is probably possible to write a program that connects to both the Orion platform and your CMDB for coordinating the two systems.

3. The documentation for the Orion SDK is included in the package. I recommend you just install it and look over the docs that way.

mohit goel

Hi..

Thanks for replying.

Can we write in python in Orion SDK ? I am asking this because when I

installed the package then in the samples folder there were 4

clients..java,perl,powershell,VB

On Thu, Jan 3, 2013 at 9:39 AM, tdanner <

tdanner

In general, any language or runtime should be able to connect to the SolarWinds Information Service - you aren't restricted to the languages we provide samples for. You just need to choose a SOAP client toolkit for Python. I haven't tried that myself, but I would start with Suds.

mohit goel

Thanks for quick reply......How should I connect to SWIS from here....

image: Inline image 1

On Fri, Jan 4, 2013 at 12:32 AM, tdanner <

tdanner