11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 9, 2012 2:54 PM by rharland2012

Question regarding Polled Status of UPS

jklandes

Ok, this might seem silly, and I am a bit new to NPM, but we have a few UPSs that are sending traps because they need their batteries replaced....

Question: Why doesn't the [polled SNMP] node status for these UPSs show as being in warning or critical state on my system? One in particular is an APC smartUPS 450. It's sending traps about the battery, but the node status still shows green and healthy. I would think the battery problem should be in the MIB and casue the stauts of the node to at least go to warning? Am I completely missing something? I configured the traps to send us alerts, but there is no option to change the status of the device, only the interface???

• Re: Question regarding Polled Status of UPS
          rharland2012

You can leverage Universal Device Pollers to get a richer set of information pulled from the UPS. Click on the 'Content Exchange' tab at the top of the Thwack page, choose Universal Device Pollers, and search for 'APC'. I think you'll find something you can populate your node details page with that will also allow you to create some alerts.

jklandes

I think I may have closed the question…. No way to respond in the thwack web interface so I’ll try replying to this email…