4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 30, 2012 9:54 AM by mr.e

Using Regex to write to Event Log

mr.e

I am very new to Regex and PowerShell.  However, I am trying to figure out how to extract the MessageType from the syslog message and write it to the to the SolarWinds.Net log.  Unfortunately, I am not having luck, as nothing is writing to the SolarWinds.Net log.  Have any of you attempted to do something like this before?  If so, I would like to hear from you.  Thanks!!!

• Re: Using Regex to write to Event Log
          michal.hrncirik

hi,

could you please post back what exactly you tried (your current regex & powershell expression)?

thanks,

Michal

mr.e

Michal,

A former teammate wrote the PS script shown below, which is the one I am working from.  As you will see, it writes the contents of the hostname and the syslog message onto the SolarWinds.net log while removing the date and machine type. The PS script is fully functional, since we've already checked it out. However, I am trying to tweak it so that it will ONLY write the hostname and the machine type. I know that the start of the Machine Type section begins with a % sign and ends with a : sign.  I know I am missing something since none of the tweaks I've made have worked.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

# This script creates an event in the SolarWinds log when a syslog message condition triggers the action running this script.

# The command executed by the alert trigger is:

# C:\WINDOWS\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\powershell.exe e:\scripts\createsyslogevent.ps1 '${Hostname}' '${Message}'

param

(

[string] $hostname = $(throw "No Hostname supplied"),

[string] $message = $(throw "No Message supplied")

)

$regex = [regex] '(^.+ %.+?: )' #THis regex assumes MessageType present in $message

$out = $regex.split($message)

if ($out.length -eq '3')

{

write-host "Has MessageType"

write-host $out[2]