5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 12, 2012 11:20 AM by Sohail Bhamani

Where to install IPAM

rulob

Hello,

Im a new Network Engineer in my company and they have been using Orion SolarWinds for some time now. Im in charge of getting this platform in peek condition for monitoring our network.

I've been doing some work with the NPM and I got an email about the IPAM app. Since we have quite a few IPs that Id like to manage by other means than Excel spreadsheet, I see this quite convinient.

My question is this, can I install IPAM in the same server where I have other Orion Solarwinds products? The Database server, can it be a virtualized server?

I'd apreciate any prompt response.

Regards, Raul

• Re: Where to install IPAM
          sirpaw

Hi Raul,

Yes, it is very much possible to install IPAM on the same server as your other SolarWinds products, provided that you consider the current size of network devices you're monitoring. Are you just using one polling engine?What are the other products installed?Are you already experiencing slowness in the app that you might want to evaluate first? Also,with the database, you also have to consider the load as well. I always prefer a database installed on a physical server, but you should consider performance issues resulting from your current and future monitored load.

Regards,

Paulo

rulob

Hi Paulo,

Thanks for a quick response. Its great to hear I can use the same server and install IPAM. The other Orion products I have is NPM and Network Atlas, also NTA. As of this moment we have only 1 polling engine. As far as I can tell NPM and IPAM can share the same engine correct? So far other products have no problems running.

I think the Database is physical, not virtual server.

Regards, Raul

Sohail Bhamani