7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 21, 2013 11:36 AM by msterling

Can i filter all Windows Event and Application logs in a seperate filter?

pdyball

Hi everyone,

I am new to log management so i maybe asking the wrong questions or heading in the wrong direction so please feel free to educate me if required.

My office has just purchased LEM and i have been asked to set up the LEM to pick up all the system and application events which are errors or higher. Once normalised i believe this means severity 4 or higher.

I am a bit confused as to how achieve this.

Can i filter MS Application Events which are level 4 or higher?

Can i filter MS System Events which are levle 4 or higher?

Also am i looking at how the LEM can do things from the worng perspective?

Any advice or tips would be appreciated.

• Re: Can i filter all Windows Event and Application logs in a seperate filter?
          byrona

So one important thing to point out is that (to the best of my knowledge) LEM won't necessairly collect all of your system or application events.  LEM comes from a background of being a security focused solution so it's designed to look at the Security and Application logs specifically for security related events.  Going forward the development of LEM looks to be more broad and less direclty security focused but I don't work at SolarWind so I can't say that definitively.

For your Windows sytems, once you have the agents installed you will need to configure the Tools/Connctors in the LEM appliance to look at both the Application and System logs.  At this point your system should be collecting the logs.