5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 26, 2012 12:21 PM by Richard Nicholson

Alerts

supportadmin

Hi,

I am new to solarwind.. I am trying to create a node down alert.. I have around 100 routers which are in the range of 100.200.1.1 to 100.200.100.1. I want to create alerts only for these 100 routers and not for any other networking equipment connected to it. All of them are Cisco 1841 routers..

In advanced alert manager, I selected node down and select the following condition.

Trigger alert when any of the following apply

Node status is equal to unreachable.

Trigger alert when any of the following apply

Machine Type is equal to Cisco 1841.

Shouldnt I get alerts only for only for those 100 routers.. I dont hae any other Cisco 1841 routers in network.. It just doesnt seem to work.. any help would be appreciated... plss help me... I am in dire need...

• Re: Alerts
          Richard Nicholson

There are a few ways to do this.  I use Custom Properties to add tags to different equipment so I can tailor my alerts around certain devices.

For instance all of our Cisco gear is owned by the DataComm Department at my company.  So I used the Custom Property Editor on the SolarWinds server to add a new Custom Property called "Department".  I then filled the Column with the correct Department for each device.  IE>> DataComm, Intel, Systems, Security.

Those 4 tags make up the Departments in our Environment.  This ties my Windows Server farm to Intel group.  My Linux/DB servers to the Systems guys.  My Cisco routers and Network gear to DataComm, and Security equipment and devices to Security.

Now you can use the Advanced alerts to really get some granularity in your alerting.  My alert looks like this.  It's very simple and to the point, but still has flexibility to grow.

Trigger alert when all of the following apply

Department is equal to DataComm

Node status is equal to Down