This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Detailed flow information

FormerMember
FormerMember

Greetings

I'm new to NPM and NTA. I have successfully managed to make the NetFlow traffic from my switch to go through the NTA.

I viewed some of the parameters regarding the flows like destination and source IP address.

Is there a way I can see more parameters about a flow like the protocol used, and especially the start and end time of the transmission, like the timestamp signifying the first and the last packet? I have already set the NetFlow record in my switch to collect all this information.

• Hi There,

If you are using NetFlow version 5 then the following fields are available when you drilldown within NTA

• Source IP address
    • Destination IP address
    • IP protocol
    • Source port for UDP or TCP, 0 for other protocols
    • Destination port for UDP or TCP, type and code for ICMP, or 0 for other protocols
    • IP Type of Service
    • Timestamps for the flow start and finish time

An example of this is shown below which I took from the SolarWinds online demo.

Flows.JPG

If you are interested in getting information about packets then you need to consider a SPAN or mirror port rather than NetFlow. All managed switches have this feature and it gives you access to more information associated with packets, especially their content.

From my understanding of the database architecture within NTA the detail mentioned above is only available for records collected within the last hour. After that the data is summerized on an hourly basis. Packet capture applications which integrate with Orion can extend this if you want to keep detailed records for longer.

Hope this helps,

Darragh

• FormerMember