3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 30, 2012 3:11 PM by dsbalcau

Agent requirements for storage monitoring and chargeback/showback

amozen

I am new to the product and want to go for try out. So my question is: do I need to install agents on all SAN attached servers to be able to do chargeback/showback as well storage monitoring or just install several VMs, deploy agents on them and collect data from my storage using SMI-S. I am a little bit hesitant to deploy agents on all SAN attached servers, especially as all of them running EMC Control Center agents.

Thanks fr advise.

• Re: Agent requirements for storage monitoring and chargeback/showback
          dsbalcau

Hi amozen,

No, you should not need to deploy agents to all of your SAN attached servers. The host on which you install the main Storage Manager server should be able to communicate with your servers running the vendor's SMI-S provider. As you significantly scale out your system, it is advisable to install agents for load balancing, but you haven't given me any indication of the size of your system in your post.

amozen

Hi Balki 1429,

The size of the environment is quite big. We have about 20000 disks in total (40 frames across 9 data centers in different continents). I've read STMAdministratorGuide and search forum, but cannot find answers to all my questions.

Is it possible to set up Storage Manager is a way where it's services distribute among several servers?

Does Storage Manage supports load balancing?

Can one agent, you suggested, pull the data from different locations? What is the maximum network latency supported between the agnet and SMI-S provider?

What is feasible server size in regards of memory / and CPU count for such environment I need to plan? The document mentioned 8 to 16 CPU for big deployment, are those actual CPUs or Cores?