This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Alerting on Volume Growth

Hello! I am new to using Solarwinds but have manged to create some basic alerts. One thing I would like to be able to do is alert if volume growth spikes above a certain level. I know I can alert if a volume exceeds a percentage or fixed amout of space etc but I think real value would come from knowing if a volume suddenly starts increasing at a rapid rate. Anyone know if this is possible?

Thanks!

• What would you consider a rapid rate?

• I would also like to know how to alert for rapid increase in disk usage.

I would consider rapid growth to be an increase of 10% disk usage over the past 30 minutes.

Along with alerting for the rapid disk usage growth, can I specify what or who is causing the issue.

• Was there ever any alert created for this?

• I have this same question. Did anyone find a solution for this?

• It has been done in custom SQL/SWQL queries.  Basically you need to determine the size of your window (lets say an hour), what growth percent would you consider "alarming" (lets say 10% over that hour)  and then write a query to find the value from an hour ago, divide that by the current value, and if the result is greater than 1.1 trigger an alert. 

In practice though this kind of alerts generate WAY more heat than light where I have seen them in use.