17 Replies Latest reply on Jan 15, 2014 11:59 AM by tdanner

SDK 1.5 invoke with Perl ?

cacao76

Hello,

I am just studying the New SDK 1.5 with the examples. I was able to read a node Information and to add a Node with severall properties with the perl client but I am unable to do a invoke operation with perl . Unfortunately there isn't any invoke example in the sample.pl although invoke is defined in the perl module.

I want to add a Node to the NCM. I got the ID from the node but I was unable to add him with perl.

I tried

print $swis->Invoke('Cirrus.Nodes', 'AddNodeToNCM 1485');

What would be the correct syntax for that operation ?

Best regards

• Re: SDK 1.5 invoke with Perl ?
          tdanner

The version of InformationService.pm distributed with the SDK doesn't have the Invoke operation hooked up correctly. I have updated it and attached a new copy to this reply. I also added an example of how to use it to unmanage a node.

To add a node to NCM, the call would look like this:

$swis->Invoke('Cirrus.Nodes', 'AddNodeToNCM', [1485]);

cacao76

Hello tdanner,

I tryed the new modul and your syntax for adding a node but I still got an error message.

print $swis->Invoke ('Cirrus.Nodes','AddNodeToNCM',[1498]);

2012-07-02 12:39:08,322 [891] ERROR SolarWinds.InformationService.Core.InformationService - Exception caught in method Invoke

System.ArgumentNullException: Verb Execution requires an array of parameters

Parameter name: parameters

at

tdanner

I hate to ask you "are you sure it is plugged in?" But the first troubleshooting step that comes to mind is to check that it Perl is actually loading the updated version of InformationService.pm (attached to my previous message in this thread), because the error you are getting is exactly what you would get with the version that's in SDK 1.5.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
                      cacao76

Hello tdanner,