10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2012 10:45 AM by phil3

LEM Documentation?

byrona

I am new to LEM which seems to have a bit of a steep learning curve.  I have watched the videos and gone through parts of the Administrators guide but am still having trouble understanding several aspects of the product such as the following...

• Advanced LEM architecture for long term retention of Syslog data
        • Setting up a separate LEM syslog server
        • Setting up a separate LEM database server
      • How to tell what the different tools/connectors are actually watching for
      • How to tell what different alerts do
        • Many of the Alerts that can be used in the Correlations section of the rules are not clear to me as to what they are looking for
          • For example I can put TCPPortScan as a Correlation for a rule but I have no idea to tell what will actually match this or what it's looking for
      • How to make any syslogs that are forwarded to LEM viewable and searchable in the LEM dashboard

I imagine this stuff is documented and I just haven't found it yet; however, I have a very short period of time to come up to speed and evaluate the product for a possible service offering that our company is putting together for Log management so any help would be much appreciated!

P.S.  If the service offering comes together as we would like I imagine we could be purchasing a lot of LEM in the future. 

• Re: LEM Documentation?
          phil3

Hi, byrona.

First, let me say that we are still in the process of updating and enhancing the LEM documentation, so much of the documentation you're looking for today will be available in the future if it's not already. That said, here's what I can say about each of your questions:

Setting up additional appliances