1 Reply Latest reply on Mar 23, 2012 10:27 AM by bobross

monitor/control through SAM Java apps running on Linux

dizzykeyboard

I'm new to SolarWinds and trying to find my way around, trying to figure our whether SAM or some other SolarWinds tools can cover my needs of monitoring and administration. I have a Java app running with different settings on several linux machines.

1) monitoring availability of machines and apps

that's an easy one ... yes

2) starting/stopping the apps from the SAM interface

I've seen it's possible to run linux scripts remotely through ssh. Can this be done manually without a schedule?

3) present and control internal application data

As it's a Java app I first looked at Jmx and MBeans. Created some beans to encapsulate internal data ( number of clients, messages/client, etc... ) I want to monitor and control and was able to set/get it with jconsole.

Then realized SAM only supports monitoring of numeric types.

Is there an alternative solution to monitor Strings?

Is there an alternative solution to be able to set numeric/string data in a Java app, to dynamically configure the application through SAM?

In SAM is it easy or at all possible to present application data like : number of active clients, a list(variable length) of names/number of messages of active clients

4) my app is also generating log files,fast growing at times. Is it possible to stream these logs to SAM and present it to the user?

5) deploying the application and patches

SolarWinds Patch Manager only supports windows right? Is there an alternative for linux or any plans to support linux in the near future? 

Possibly some of the requirements are out of the scope of SAM. In that case are the other SolarWinds tools to help cover them?

• Re: monitor/control through SAM Java apps running on Linux
          bobross