0 Replies Latest reply on Feb 1, 2012 10:36 AM by smittyman

Custom Properties for Groups

smittyman

I'd like to request the ability to add custom properties to groups.  The use case I have is as follows:

Within my NPM implementation, one of the uses I have for groups is to provide a container for all devices within a specific location.  These groups are named in such a way to denote this function (i.e. groupname(Facility))  I have alerts that are based off groups with word "Facility" in them, so that when one of the groups that represent a physical building go down, there's an alert action.  This works fine right now.  Recently I started playing with Google maps and I ended up geocoding all my locations within my service management system.  I query my service management system for all locations and their geocodes, and then dynamically plot them on a google map.  I want to take it a step further and tie the status of the location based on these groups back to the location in my service management system.  In this manner, I can create near real-time maps of all my physical locations.