5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 31, 2011 1:10 PM by MarieB

managed interfaces and sonar network discovery

karim1

Hi,

I'm new to NPM so be kind to my tender soul when slamming me for putting up a silly post.

Q1.  In NPMv10.1 is there a way to permanently put an interface/s in an  unmanaged state. Currently when trying to unmanage an interface/s it  asks for a "Unmanage this device until" details (screen capture 1). I  want to be able to select a bunch of interfaces and click unmanage and  forget about it until there is a need to start managing/collecting stats  for those interfaces. The way it currently behaves is the unmanaged  nodes/interfaces will automatically start being managed again once the  timer elapses.

Q2. In sonar network discovery for the entire  10.0.0.0/8 keeps failing/timing out. I have tried the discovery with  both default settings (screen capture 2) and with maximising the timers  (screen capture 3) without success, am I doing something wrong?

Q3.  To get NPM to discovery devices I have had to break the class A subnet  into smaller class C chunks, while this works it is not really practical  for a network of our size (700+ devices). Question is, for devices with  multiple IP addresses is there a way I can force network discovery to  discover devices using the management (loopback) address? Or do I have  to manually change the source addresses afterwards?

Q4.Following on from Q3. Presuming a router with ip address  1.1.1.1 was discovered and I changed the source ip address afterwards to  2.2.2.2 and ran the discovery again. Will the routers source address  revert back to 1.1.1.1?

Q5. Finally how to a configure device discovery to run say in  2hours time or every sunday at 2am? Currently options are to run every x  hours or daily or immediately.

• Re: managed interfaces and sonar network discovery
          needle

Hi,