This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Assistance with customizing the Web experience

Hi Everyone, I am new to both Orion and thwack.  I've been on the other side of Orion for several years, but I've never had to implement or support the application before; it was just one of my tools as a NOC engineer.

I've already imported all of the nodes into the database so data is being collected. 

After showing management the "summary" page on the Web, I could tell it wasn't what they were hoping for.

I will need to completely tear down and redesign the summary page to be more high level, but include very detailed SNMP trap and syslog events.

Where should I begin?  I've been to the Orion Website Administration page, but it doesn't look to be as customizable as I'm going to need.

Any help or ideas is greatly appreciated!

thanks,

-Jared Castiglione

• Could you please provide a summary of what exactly you are expecting your summary page to communicate?  Who will be the audience, how will they be using it, what do they want to be able to know when they look at it?

Also, I should point out that you say "more high level" as compared to the default which is pretty high level; however, you also mention SNMP Trap and Syslog which is the exact opposite of high level.

• Thanks for the quick reply.  I get the impression that the front page needs to be able to give a lot of information through red/amber/green status lights.  I say SNMP and Syslog because one of the requirements is to have Orion show when a user locked his/her account by logging in incorrectly 5 times in a row, and when an admin has incorrectly logged in to any server is a specific domain.