12 Replies Latest reply on Jun 9, 2010 6:36 AM by kweise

Custom reports for Orion

satishpengal

I am using Orion Report Writer ver 9.5.0

would like to know how to go about designing a report which gives me monthly utilisation of various WAN links, for Monday to Friday between 07:00 to 19:00. Wondering if it would be possible to design such a report ??

I am not a SQL expert, so please bear with me.

Thanks and Regards,

Satish

• Re: Custom reports for Orion
          kweise

Satish,

The nice thing about the report writer is you don't necessarily need to be a SQL expert in order to create custom reports.  It should be possible to create the report just using Report Writer.  Probably the best way to get started would be to watch the Report Writer video tutorial on the SolarWinds web site.  The Report Writer tutorial is on the Recommended tab on the video tutorial page, which you can find here: http://www.solarwinds.com/support/tutorials.aspx

If you still have specific questions about your report after you get started, post a screen shot of your filter results here with your question and you'll normally get some pretty good direction on how to get the report you want.

Hope this helps!

satishpengal

Thanks Kweise

video tutorial is helpul, however it only covers very basic reports.

I am able to pull a average monthly utilisation report for various link without any issues. However, utilisation figure would be totally different if you pull a monthly report considering data pulled into report is for Monday to Friday (saturday and sunday eliminated, as utilisation will be nil on these days and will give misguiding figures if we include data for weekends in the report) and only for hours between 07.00 to 19.00 as utilisation before 7 am in the morning and after 7 pm in evening will be almost nil.

I hope my question is clear !!

kweise