8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 15, 2010 5:41 PM by KwameB

Help please with building Reports

nbjeter3

Ok, So I'm new at this software and have little to no SQL Query building experience but have been tasked with building several reports on Bandwidth Utilization and CPU and Memory utilization. The CIO wants to track trends in bandwidth utilization so that he can present documentation to the CFO whenever he needs to upgrade a circuit. What I need help with is this: I need to make a monthly report showing bandwidth utilization on a per hour of the day basis of the entire previous month. I need to graph it on a per node basis showing the peaks and troughs of the bandwidth spikes for every day in order to build a trend. I am trying to find someway to take the averages of, for example, the Mondays of every month, per hour, then the Tuesdays, per hour, etc. in order to narrow down the graphs to single day trends on specific nodes.

I'm not sure how clear I am on this but hopefully someone out there can offer some insight on this.

Thanks in advance

Norman

• Re: Help please with building Reports
          kweise

Norman,

Probably the best way to get started with writing reports is to view the Report Writer video tutorial on the SolarWinds website.  You can find it on the Recommended tab here: http://www.solarwinds.com/support/tutorials.aspx

One thing to mention that you probably don't want to hear - you can't create graphs in Orion reports.  It's a feature that has been requested often over the years but hasn't made it to the product yet.  There are posts on here from others who have created graphs using third party tools such as Crystal Reports or SQL Reporting Services.  There is a pretty good paper in the Content Exchange area about creating reports using the SQL Reporting Services (you can find it here: Custom Reports with SQL Reporting Services)