This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Any problems running Orion on blade servers?

I am looking for general opinions on whether running polling engines on blade servers is a good idea or not?

• I have been running Orion NPM/NCM on HP Blades for 2 years now, and I have never had a problem. 

One thing you will need to consider is how much space you need for a database, and/or if  your blade platform will offer fast enough disk IO for your environment.  Since I run on HP blades I only have two HD's available -- this hasn't been a problem for me since I poll < 1000 elements.  HP does offer storage blades that act as direct attached storage, but I haven't had a need.  Even if your database is massive, or you have an existing SAN infrastructure you'd like to use for your database, most (if not all) Blade vendors offer hardware to integrate into your environment -- iSCSI, FC, etc.

If you do use HP blades, HP sells Fusion-IO drives (Branded as HP IO Accelerator) that offers 80GB, 160GB, and I think 320GB SSD storage in the HP mezzanine card format.  I've used the IO Accelerator for other applications and it works great.

• No worries there.  I already have a very large Orion implementation and am looking to install a 3rd polling engine.  My boss asked about the possibility of moving to blade servers for just the polling engines, hence the question.  I have a stand alone server for the db, with the actual db living on a very speedy SAN.

• I have a large Orion deployment:  Orion Server, HSB engine, 9 Polling Engines, and a monster DB server all are on blade servers.  Been running there for the last three years.  No issues

All are HP Blade Servers - E5450 (2HTx3.00 GHz) with 16 GB RAM; same hardware for the DB, but 32 GB RAM