This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Trouble interpretting Netflow data stats. They appear to be twice as much as expected.

I'm sure this is just me being thick.  I'm new to Netflow and am clearly missing something obvious so my apologies.

I have 2 servers separated by a 1.57Mbps WAN link.  We have a schedule data replication which maxes out the link for almost exactly 12 hours. (6pm-6am)

A Bandwidth calculator tells me that a 1.57Mbps link can transfer a max of 706.5MBs per hour.

706.5MBs x 12 hours

= circa 8.5GB (roughly)

Netflow reports the traffic in this 12 hour period to be a tad under 16GB, roughly double.

Am I reading this wrong, configured things wrong, or has orion summarised it, or something else ?

Cheers

Dan

• Hi dan-uk,

We can probably figure it out with a little more info.  Which NetFlow report are you reffering to? What version of NTA? How many NetFlow exporters do you have configured in the transfer path and are the both ingress and egress?

Andy

• Hi Andy

Thanks for getting back to me.  The Netflow report is NetflowInterfaceDetails.aspx

Am running version of Netflow 3.5

On the router itself :

********#sh ip flow interface
    FastEthernet0/0
      ip route-cache flow
      ip flow ingress
      ip flow egress
    FastEthernet0/1
      ip route-cache flow
      ip flow ingress
      ip flow egress

ip flow-export version 5
    ip flow-export destination xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 2055

IOS : c2801-spservicesk9-mz.124-22.T.bin

Only exporting data to a single Orion box.

Is this what you needed ?

Regards

Dan

• Something must be wrong.  No way you should even be getting the max.  Protocol overhead and retrasmissions should eat away at the max pretty good.