11 Replies Latest reply on May 2, 2014 9:06 AM by iunderwo

advanced alert - where nodename "does not contain" etc...

the_toilet

hi all,

is there any way to use in advanced alerting, the parameter of "interface fullname "does not contain" a string of chars?  i can see "contains" whcih is OK, but is the reverse of what i want...

i want to monitor all of my BRI interfaces for being UP, but do not want to get alerts from the INTERFACE DOWN alerts for them as they are in a good state when they are DOWN.

alert structure woudl be:

custom-property1 is equal to toilet
      interface status is equal to down
      interface fullname does not contain bri

what do you think?  don't think you can do it now, but will you be able to any time soon?

• Re: advanced alert - where nodename "does not contain" etc...
          MagnAxiom

I am by no means an expert... but couldn't you create a custom property called InterfaceType that identifies each interface that is a BRI?

InterfaceType is equal to BRI

interface status is equal to up

This would allow you to trigger an alert whenever a BRI interface goes to an UP mode.

I know it's a different approach, but then you could have a separate alert that tests just for the BRI up status and can do custom alerts for that situation.

the_toilet

that is a good idea, but i shyed away from it as my interfaces table is thousands, so this woudl be a mighty task.

in the end, i went down the supression TAB route.  I have not have much success with supression tab before, but it seems to be working on this...  i have a very good alerting structure build for thsi particular customer, where i can not

- monitor for ISDN up in error
              - ISDN not ready for use in event of MPLS failure
              - MPLS interface DOWN
              - usual stats alerts, errors on line, utilisation etc...

seems to be working well, though i have not rolled it into live.  this particular roll out is to replace a CA unicentre implementation of NSM/NPO